What people are saying...

Read this page to see what people are saying about DXtreme Reception Log — Advanced Edition.

eHam.net Reviews

Note: When you're finished, please click the Close Window button.

"I highly recommend DXtreme to anyone who is ready to make that leap into the 21st Century."

Monitoring Times, November 2012

First Look
by Loyd Van Horn, W4LVH
Monitoring Times
November 2012

Out of the Box

"Anyone with any experience using Windows-based programs, especially DX-related programs such as DX Atlas, should have no problem getting adjusted to the interface. The interface for logging catches is extremely intuitive.

"My absolute favorite part of DXtreme is the user-defined fields. I like to get very granular with the statistics that I track in regards to my DX. I don't want to know just how many stations I have heard from one state or on one frequency, but how many daytime versus nighttime, how many during sunrise or sunset periods, where I was when I heard it (for separating my lifetime contacts), what the transmitter power was during reception, etc. These are all fields that I was able to do with the user-defined fields’ setup.

"For an example, under the user-defined fields 'tab 1' I have setup a pick-list for 'time of day.' From here, I have created options called daytime, nighttime, sunrise and sunset. Whenever I log a new station, I not only enter my time on the main logging page, but also the time of day the station was logged. This will come in very handy when we discuss reports later.

Performance Test

"As I went through the AM broadcast band, logging new stations, I did a side-by-side comparison of entering the information into my old spiral logbook and typing it into DXtreme. I wanted to get a feel for how easy entering information was into the program. My guess was that my handwritten log would be considerably easier. I was actually pretty surprised.

"For instance: one of the stations I logged was WWWC – 1240 kHz in Wilkesboro, North Carolina. Once I turned to the frequency and was waiting to hear station ID, I started entering information such as country … day, time, time of day, reception location and my comments (yes, there is a large comments field on a separate tab. Outstanding!) By the time I heard the station slogan and call letters, all I had to do was complete my notes and add the ending time.

"Entering the information was no more cumbersome than my handwritten log. On the contrary, it was easier ... and I have much more room to enter comments than my handwritten log has.

"Some of the other features I found interesting and even quite usable were the reception report builder and verification tab (to track verified stations) [and] the QSL imager (Get a QSL back? Scan it and keep an image of it in your logbook!).

"As I mentioned earlier, I am a report junkie. I used to sit for hours, counting manually every contact on a hand-drawn chart that showed every statistical category I wanted to track. DXtreme takes care of that for me!

"There is a robust reporting package in DXtreme. In a matter of seconds, I can run exportable reports that will show me performance and data from any field that can be tracked in my log entries. I can tell you how many graveyard stations I have logged on 1230 kHz from the state of Georgia. I can tell you how many sunset DX stations I have logged on 1580 kHz during the month of October. If you have entered it into your log, the report package has a way to manipulate the data to show you just about anything you want.

The Final Word

"From an ease of operation standpoint, from the plethora of customization options and features available, not to mention the sheer amount of reporting and data crunching you can do once your DX session is complete, I highly recommend DXtreme to anyone who is ready to make that leap into the 21st Century."

You can read the entire two-page review in the November 2012 issue of Monitoring Times.


"DXtreme Software Releases New Version of Reception Log"

Reception Log in September 2012 issue of Pop'Comm
IN GEAR
by Jason Feldman, WPC2COD
Popular Communications
September 2012

"[DXtreme Reception Log — Advanced Edition] includes a Schedule Checker facility that lets users import schedules from the EiBi Web site and display schedule data according to the filter criteria they specify. When the What’s On Now? function is activated, the schedule refreshes automatically at the top of each hour.

"[Users can also] perform a DX Atlas azimuth plot from their location to the country or transmitter site of a scheduled station1 and tune their radio to the schedule frequency by double-clicking a schedule item2.

"Reception Log — Advanced Edition ... creates customized paper and e-mail reception reports, accumulates club report entries for reporting catches and QSLs to clubs and magazines, [and] has a Transmitter Sites module that ... can be used as a lookup window for adding transmitter site information to log entries.

"[Reception Log also] produces reports that track the performance of the user’s monitoring station [and] integrates [those] reports with DX Atlas1 to produce a map of pins; one color for heard countries and stations, another color for verified countries and stations."

1 — A software license for DX Atlas is required if you intend to use it. You can obtain a license from Afreet Software, Inc.
2 — A license for Afreet Omni-Rig or Ham Radio Deluxe is required to use rig control.


"A glance at DXtreme Software [and] DXtreme Reception Log Advanced Edition Version 7.0."

Reception Log in September 2012 issue of CQ
What's New
by John Wood, WV5J
CQ Amateur Radio
September 2012

Schedule Checker

"Reception Log — Advanced Edition includes a Schedule Checker facility that lets users import schedules from the EiBi Web site and display [filtered] schedule information by band (LF, MF, and HF), country, station, time, target area, and language. When the What’s On Now? function is activated, the schedule refreshes automatically at the top of each hour.

"For each schedule item, the Schedule Checker queries the Reception Log database to let users know by means of user-defined display colors whether they need to monitor a station for a brand new or verified country. The Schedule Checker also lets users perform a DX Atlas azimuth plot from their location to the country or transmitter site of a scheduled station.1"

Advanced Functions

"Reception Log — Advanced Edition includes the following advanced functions:

  • "Lets users scan the physical QSL cards they receive … and capture the electronic QSLs they receive over the Internet [which] users can view at any time.
  • "Creates customized paper and e-mail reception reports.
  • "Accumulates club report entries for reporting catches and QSLs to clubs and magazines.
  • "Has a Transmitter Sites module that stores ITU transmitter site locations, which can be used as a lookup window for adding transmitter site information to log entries.
  • "Displays and saves the Solar Flux, A-Index, and K-Index values in effect at the time of reception, and permits users to run performance reports on this information later.
  • "Retrieves the frequency and mode from supported radios2.
  • "Produces reports that track the performance of the user’s monitoring station, and lets users FTP those reports to user-provided Web space for remote access.
  • "Integrates reports with DX Atlas to produce a map of pins; one color for heard countries and stations, another color for verified countries and stations. Pin colors can be chosen by users on the Preferences window.
  • "Provides support for monitoring Amateur Radio operators. Reception Log can retrieve call sign and address information for monitored hams from optional Buckmaster™ HamCall™, send automatic eQSL requests to monitored hams via www.eQSL.cc, and produce Ham-specific paper and e-mail reception reports."

1 — A software license for DX Atlas is required if you intend to use it. You can obtain a license from Afreet Software, Inc.
2 — A license for Afreet Omni-Rig or Ham Radio Deluxe is required to use rig control.


"The new functionality is superb!"

"Thank you for the support.

"And as for DXtreme Reception Log V7.0, the new functionality is superb! The DX Atlas integration is way better than I had expected; absolutely seamless. I particularly like the configuration options for how the maps are displayed. There isn't a better logging program (and I've tried a few)."

Martin Kitt
United Kingdom


DXtreme Reception Log in the April-May-June 2012 issue of Scanner Digest
General Editor
by Jeff Newton
Scanner Digest
April-May-June 2012

"Since many of our scanner buffs also have cross-interest in other facets of the hobby, we thought this would be of interest to some of our readers: DXtreme Software is proud to announce that the latest version of [their] logging software for radio and TV monitoring enthusiasts is now available: DXtreme Reception Log — Advanced Edition, Version 7.0."

Advanced Functions

"Includes a Schedule Checker facility that lets users import schedules from the EiBi Web site and display schedule data according to the filter criteria they specify.

"Accumulates club report entries for reporting catches and QSLs to clubs and magazines.

"Has a Transmitter Sites module that stores ITU transmitter site locations, which can be used as a lookup window for adding transmitter site information to log entries.

"Displays and saves the Solar Flux, A-Index, and K-Index values in effect at the time of reception, and permits users to run performance reports on this information later.

"Retrieves the frequency and mode from supported radios.

"Produces reports that track the performance of the user’s monitoring station, and lets users FTP those reports to user-provided Web space for remote access.

"Integrates reports with DX Atlas1 to produce a map of pins; one color for heard countries and stations, another color for verified countries and stations. Pin colors can be chosen by users on the Preferences window.

"Provides support for monitoring Amateur Radio operators. Reception Log can retrieve call sign and address information for monitored hams from optional Buckmaster™ HamCall™, send automatic eQSL requests to monitored hams via www.eQSL.cc, and produce Ham-specific paper and e-mail reception reports.

1 — A software license for DX Atlas is required if you intend to use it. You can obtain a license from Afreet Software, Inc.


"DXtreme Reception Log: Get With the Program ... there's a lot to like!"

DXtreme Reception Log reviewed in July 2010 Popular Communications
Two Approaches to Logging
by Dan Srebnick, K2DLS
The Intersection Of Computers and Radio — RF Bits
Popular Communications
July 2010

"Logging entries directly into [DXtreme Reception Log — Advanced Edition (DXRL)] was quite painless. If you're a Ham Radio Deluxe or Omni-Rig user, DXRL will pick up the tuned frequency automatically. The program contains example script templates to auto generate a reception report, complete with program details. The templates are fairly easy to understand, and there are samples in English, French, Spanish, and Portuguese. Different types of letters can be easily generated, such as an SWBC report or an SWL report on a ham QSO. HTML can also be generated for a more visually appealing email.

"DXRL has the ability to download historical data about propagation conditions, including the solar flux, A and K indices. Click on Edit, Global Update of Solar Flux and A- and K- Indexes and the indices since January 1, 1997 are downloaded. Corresponding log entries are updated, giving you the opportunity to check out the propagation metrics on some of your better DX catches.

"[The program also] contains a very nice Schedule Checker, in case you want to see what is on now or at a given time.

"I wanted to produce a sequential report showing all of my documented SWDX efforts. This was fairly straightforward. I used the “Stations by Class” report and the result [appeared in my Web browser]. To produce this report, I used the report screen to request that All Classes be shown and to sort the report by date. Then, under Fields, I selected those column headings that I wanted on the printed report. The report is generated using Internet Explorer, but the program is also configurable to use Firefox, or most any other browser. You can then print the report, if desired.

"DXtreme Reception Log is a capable program and I don't think I'll be going back to my quick and dirty MySQL database anytime soon. It is easy to use, the help system is well documented, and I cannot say enough about [DXtreme Software owner] Bob Raymond's responsiveness acting on my desire to [include] an import utility [with the program]."


"DXtreme Reception Log Software"

QST, June 2010

QST
June 2010

Audio Feature

"In addition to the usual logging functions, [DXtreme Reception Log — Advanced Edition's] embedded audio feature lets users create and maintain an audio archive of stations heard."

Schedule Checker

"A Schedule Checker™ imports schedules from the EiBi Web site and displays schedule data according to user specified filter criteria."

QSL Imaging

"The program also features an integrated QSL Imaging™ facility that allows users to scan physical QSL cards and capture electronic QSLs received over the Internet. Reception Log™ saves both types of QSLs as digital images to view at any time."

Reception Reports

"The software includes a customizable reception report generator."


"Thanks to your Wonderful Software, I’m Hooked on the Hobby Again!"

"I’ve been an on-again-off-again SWL hobbyist for 40 years. I bought your software in late December 2010 (a Christmas present) to help me find stations with the new radio I got for my birthday earlier in the year. Now, thanks to your wonderful software, I’m hooked on the hobby once again."

"Where in the past I had depended on the WRTH and other printed listings, now I can use your Schedule Checker and see what’s on the air at any time."

"I’m still learning how to use the many features of DXtreme [Reception Log], but it’s fun. Someday, I’m going to blow the dust off my old QSLs and scan them into [my] database so I can refer to them."

"Thanks again for a great program."

Bill Doubledee
Tulsa, OK


"My Only SWL Logging Program!"

"I use DXtreme Reception Log [Advanced Edition] as my only SWL logging program. Don't let looks deceive you, this software has many, many features and, in my opinion, is the best available!"

"Support is second only to the expertise with which [they] program!!! If you couldn't tell by my excitement, Reception Log works fine!"

John Schneider, KB2COP
Shoreham, NY


"Has Never Let Me Down!"

"I have been a satisfied user of DXtreme Reception Log for several years now, and have used it as my primary means of logging shortwave and utility transmissions. It has always met my logging needs, and has never let me down."

Joe Cooper, VE3FMQ
Editor, Utility Radio Review
Popular Communications


"Works Great!"

"Just received my Reception Log disk and installed it on the new computer. After loading my logs for the new year, all I can say is so far it works great! Thank you for the great and prompt service."

David in New Mexico


"Running Perfectly!"

"Program has been installed and is running perfectly! Great program! Congratulations!"

Hector E. Perez, San Juan, PR


"DXtreme Reception Log is an Outstanding Program!"

"DXtreme Reception Log is an outstanding program. It has an awesome amount of features and covers just about every logging and reception reporting requirement of the radio hobby.

"Bob (the owner of DXtreme Software) was an excellent help to me with any questions that I had about its installation and features. Great job Bob!"

Larry Flaitz of Rochester, NY


"DXtreme Reception Log is the Best Yet!"

"Thanks a lot for a great program! I will be mentioning it to at least two groups that I hang with on the Internet.

"Some people don't just do Ham, or AM-FM, or Utes — they do it all. DXtreme Reception Log is the only application that addresses all of the various radio monitors and users. Good luck with what is a great product. DXtreme Reception Log is one of a kind!"

Al Bowers, KA6FBB, of Apple Valley, CA


"DXtreme Reception Log Has It All!"

"Couldn't wait to load DXtreme Reception Log and check out all the new features. Looks like you outdid yourself on this one!

"As I've said before, the Gold version (DXtreme SWRLgold) was just about all you could ask for in a logging program, but DXtreme Reception Log has it all!

"Keep up the great work!"

Paul Mijatovich, NG8Z, of Harper Woods, MI


"DXtreme Reception Log is a Winner!"

"I have got DXtreme Reception Log up and running and I have imported my DXtreme SWRLgold [the previous version of DXtreme Reception Log — ed] data. From everything I see it is a winner!

"I have enjoyed using SWRLgold since I purchased it, and I see no reason for that to change (with DXtreme Reception Log)."

Bob Merritt, KE4BMT, of Douglas, GA


"I'm Having a Blast With DXtreme Reception Log!"

"Jeez!

"The new QSL Repository Explorer is fantastic! Even a thumbnail browser!

"And I love the new look of the Stations Report when run in the Window.

"You have made a great program even better. The features are superb and dependable.

"Great job!!"

Michael Shaw, N1XTV, of Palm Harbor, FL


"I Love It!"

"I just received and installed my new DXtreme SWRLgold [the previous version of DXtreme Reception Log — ed] software. I must say that I love it. I sort of purchased it without any particular knowledge of it. I figured at the low price you are asking for it, that I didn't have much to lose. Actually, I am quite surprised that it is as inexpensive as it is. The program is great and is very well thought out. I already started logging some stations and it took only a few minutes in order to get acquainted with the basic features and capabilities of the program.

I wish to express a tip of the hat to you and your co-workers. You have done a splendid job! I look forward to using DXtreme SWRLgold for many years."

Dan Dankert, N6PEQ/ZF2RE of Tustin, California.


"Outstanding Program!"

"OUTSTANDING program and I thank you very much. It is everything I had hoped for and much more."

Norm Constanti of Rosebud, MO.


"Best Investment!"

"Wanted to drop you a note to let you know how pleased I am with the program. It's very easy to use, and VERY well thought out. I've used a lot of different computer programs for logbooks, and this is by far the best I've ever come across. It's the best investment I've ever made in this hobby! Bravo!"

Jim Tedford of Seattle, WA


"Far Beyond Any Logging Program!"

"The SWRLgold program got to Taiwan today and I'm happy to see it. I see you have a very well written program with functions far beyond any logging program I've sampled. Good job!"

James Thomas of Taiwan


Click Here to Return Home